Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: UV co-ordinates and values.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First may I state that I am no programmer and so have little understanding of the work involved. What I do know is a given job is normally 10 times more work than first thought !!

If I wish to place a vertice at a given point wings will do that, no probs! The maths and the method are in place. If I wish to move that same vertice at a fixed point in a UV map it is really down to suck it and see.

I build models thinking that in the "real world" they would be made up of a number of fixed panels. Think of a garden fence, there are a number of fixed upright poles, the sides of which can use exactly the same texture. The fence itself is made up of a number of identical panels, same texture.

I could make 10 cubes and .... one cube and cut and paste, sorted. But this would need 60 faces to be drawn at run time, many never seen. One cube, many faces, same texture. Looks the same but draws so much faster.

OR a rubics cube , half finished but with images not colours on each face

Now on to what I would like ( He says with a smile on his face!!)
Select a number of vertices in a UV map and assign a value to them so that 10 faces all fit exactly the same on a given texture. I can use scaleing and drag but getting 10 vertices to line up perfectly is no small task.*

I could have a Large face cut up and a separate material for each one, true. What I would like is for one material (or part of it) to look after 10 different faces.

Some thing like the Absolute Commands / move on the RMB

Just an Idea!

*I am in no way saying this is a small task!!!
Have you tried Tools/Snap image? (works best in ortho mode).