Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Designing a new UI
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello there. I have been playing with W3D for a while as I was looking for a simple polygon modeler, to use as a starting point before bringing in the mesh into Sculptris to make it more gritty.

I'm kinda got used to the highly clean dark charcoal UI's these days, and as a graphic designer I was already looking to expand into UI design. I honestly am one of those weirdo's that could have no clue how a certain software work, but enjoy the UI Tongue

So I like to design a new UI for W3D, will start in vectors which I can then export to pixel formats. But my questions are basically:

1. If I want to use my own design, or when others want to have it as well, how exactly do I 'connect' it with the architecture layer underneath it? I am not near a programmer, so no clue how to fork the code and change it.

2. If others like it, is it feasible to export all the elements, for the W3D team to implement it, or how does helping the dev team exactly work here?

3. If I'm the only one who like to use it, what do I need to do?

Thanks.
Hmmm not a very active forum I guess?
Just to not let you without any information...

(02-09-2017, 08:45 PM)Rooster Wrote: [ -> ]Hmmm not a very active forum I guess?
Wings3D doesn't have as many users as other 3d applications have, but it has a lot of 'supporters'. Our forum is usually visited by around 22 registered users every day - that revisit the forum many times a day. But, yes, no much activity here. Smile

The current UI uses the wxWidgets library which brings to the app the OS's look and feel. So, there is no much space for visual customisation. You can basically do that with colours and fonts - in Preferences dialog (User Interface tab).

Share this kind of settings is possible by using the File->Save Preference Subset.