Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Wings 3D Contest ?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi wings users (lovers),

Wings is a marvellous tool which, we know it all, has a chaotic and precarious existence. If we can always use it is thanks to the keen and remarkable work of some passionated developers. However, Wings 3D is not still to date the success which it deserves.
I was wondering if it was possible to set up a contest around a new Wings 3D version called 2.0 ?
It will consist to design a more attractive and new interface, new icons : new look...
I'm not a developer that's why I just focus on the general design but the idea is here and of curse we'll need developers cooperation on this project.
Then we could start a communication campaign, Facebook, Twitter, contacting specialized websites to give to the new Wings 3D more "visibility"...
Let me resume :

1/ Design contest
2/ Results
3/ Development (Winner will work with developers)
4/ Release
5/ Communication

What do you think about it ?

PS : Please excuse my poor english ^^
Quote:a more attractive and new interface, new icons : new look
Wings is being ported to the wxWidgets UI toolkit. This means the UI will have the native look on all platforms. And native is the best kind of look a program can have.
I don't agree that a native look is the end all be all. There are prices to be paid for being able to switch hit like that. Real coding efforts ... even if you use wxWidgets or Qt or some other crap that purports to level the playing field of UI. These things never really get it all done. I want my wings3d to look the same whereever I go.

If you have a roll your own GUI like Blender, WinAmp, Wings3D and many others along the way ... you can go off deep end and create hard to understand user interfaces ... but I don't think Wings3D as done that at all.