Wings 3D Development Forum
How would you make this? - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Interface & Usage (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: How would you make this? (/showthread.php?tid=2940)

How would you make this? - PWD - 05-17-2020

Hi guys,

I'm new to wings 3d but in the past I used polymodeling with 3dsmax and then surface modeling with rhino.
Since you have to do some "mechanical like" thing there are no problems, but you have to have a clear idea of what you want before you start.
With wings 3d I think that what you do, can be a start point for what you want to achieve because you see directly what you're doing.
So please, how would you make this?

The internal hole for the finger is 18mm in diameter and the stone is 5mm in diameter.

Do you think it's achievable?
Let me know, please.

Thanks
Marco

RE: How would you make this? - micheus - 05-17-2020

Tip from Dropbox support: in order to share images from Dropbox you can replace the termination in the image link ?dl=0 by ?raw=1
[table][tr]
[td][/td]
[td][/td]
[td][/td]
[/tr][/table]
Quote:The internal hole for the finger is 18mm in diameter and the stone is 5mm in diameter.
Wings3D doesn't works with any specific metric system. We are going to be talking about WU (Wings3D Unit) and you may need to achieve its relationship with the application you will export your model. I've talked about this recently in this post.

Quote:Do you think it's achievable?
Yes.
It will be easily? Maybe not so trivial. But, I'm going try to prepare some steps to reach at least that shape.

RE: How would you make this? - PWD - 05-18-2020

Hi Micheus,

thanks for your reply.
Understood about dropbox! Thanks