Wings 3D Development Forum
Tutorial Request - Making A Plugin for Wings 3D - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Programming (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: Tutorial Request - Making A Plugin for Wings 3D (/showthread.php?tid=324)

Tutorial Request - Making A Plugin for Wings 3D - DreamBliss - 05-29-2013

I am a former Max user who wants to start using Wings 3D. Not only that, I want to create plugins for it. Specifically, I want to create an exporter for MOUL (Myst Online Uru Live) ages.

This will be a very complex process because essentially Cyan turned 3DS Max into a level editor with their plugin for Max. I have to figure out how to do the same thing in Wings 3D.

I have some programming knowledge, and am currently working through the mires of C++. After Googling around for help learning how to create a plugin, all I have learned is that I will probably have to understand Erlang, and that there is some sort of strange initiation going on where newcomers to Wings 3D plugin development are expected essentially to dive in and figure things out for themselves :/

Well I say screw the initiation! I just want a step-by-step easy-to-follow process from A (no plugin) to B (plugin) for creating a simple Hello World! (or equivalent) plugin for Wings 3D, and I would also like all the information I need for the more advanced stuff.

So this is a request for that information. Ideally this could be done using video tutorials. But written is fine. If the information is out there, and up-to-date, I would appreciate a link to it. I have found very little so far.

Also if there is any way this can be coded in C++ and then taken into Erlang, I would like to know about that as well. Unless the two languages are so similar that it's pretty easy to understand one if you understand the other.