Wings 3D Development Forum
A newbie's first steps in 3d modeling - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Gallery (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: A newbie's first steps in 3d modeling (/showthread.php?tid=411)

Pages: 1 2 3

A newbie's first steps in 3d modeling - Shroomworks - 09-14-2013

Hey everyone!
I'm still quite new to the whole 3d modeling thing and i was searching for a neat program that does not overwhelm me with it's contend when i start using it. Started to learn Blender a while back with my older brother as my teacher and we got some things done,but the fact was,Blender completely overwhelmed me.

So,after a while i started thinking if there are other 3d modeling programs out there that are free and easier to use for beginners and i discovered google Sketchup (wich i removed again because i can't ork when i get error messages with every step i make) and my older brother told me about Wings3d. Looked at it,downloaded it and started learning. Since then 2 days have passed and i'm totally satisfied with Wings3D and even began to make my very own model. It was a lot of learning by doing,trial and error and even though my first model is not all that great and contains lots of mistakes,i do think it did turn out rather well.

I don't know how to post images in this forum yet,but until i learned that too,i'll give you a link to my imgur ablum dedicated to my work with Wings3D.

I'll be looking forward to some feedback and advice,tips and ideas on how to make things better looking and more detailed Smile

And as promised,the link to the album: http://imgur.com/a/QLGiV

Thank you for reading my wall of text Smile

Battleship Concept (View in 3D)
[Image: VnJE1]

RE: A newbie's first steps in 3d modeling - micheus - 09-14-2013