Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
03-06-2015, 01:03 AM
Post: #1
Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
Hello all

Am having difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.

ie:

In flat shaded "workmode" and show edges selected, I load a sphere.

Am able to highlight only the top and bottom sets of edges and no

others.

This is the same in wireframe and including show wireframe back-faces

other modes seem ok.

As for selection am able to select edges although only the top and

bottom edges likewise show as selected.

Notice 4 edges selected are all connected along a loop.

Anyone else seen this or am I missing a trick.

Thanks

wings 1.5.3
Vista
Ati Radion Express 1200


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Reply
03-06-2015, 01:49 AM
Post: #2
RE: Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
Hi Anthony
All I can tell is that is probably a video card driver issue. It's usual people report problems like that related to Intel ones.

I would suggest you to check for driver updates, but as your card is a little old (2007) it can be hard to get it. I did a search and supposedly has a safe one in this link.

I also found some comments related to similar issue which people were using Wings3d under Linux. One commented that it could be related to point size and bla,bla,...

That is something you could play with and see if that help you in some way. In the Preferences dialog your can change this kind of stuff in the General tab - try some small values. You also could try play with Edge display problems values in the Misc tab.

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply
03-06-2015, 05:01 AM
Post: #3
RE: Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
Was sort of expecting the old graphics driver thing and had seen some posts referring to the Edge display problems, so will have a fiddle about.

No go for me with your ati driver link they want my soul. some less old drivers for it are available from samsung the machine is a notebook.

If I have any results will update.

Thank you for your feedback micheus.
Reply
03-06-2015, 05:12 AM
Post: #4
RE: Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
Please try play with those edge and vertex size parameters. Unfortunately this kind of problem can only be checked by the PC owner. Sad

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply
03-06-2015, 05:29 AM (This post was last modified: 03-06-2015 05:33 AM by ggaliens.)
Post: #5
RE: Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
Should always be mentioned that you can try "downgrading" your video drivers to generic ... if that applies to you. This usually gets me around problems ... even if not ideal for gaming ... might get you by for low poly wings3d works. Depends on your situation.

OH MAN !!! I just saw "VISTA". Geez. I'm going to pray for you.

If you for example do something crazy like go into hardware devices and do something like "disable" on ATI ... you might get Microsoft Open GL compatibility drivers. Also ... vista is probably old enough that you could go into troubleshooting and turn off hardware accelerations.

Good luck.
Reply
03-06-2015, 09:46 AM
Post: #6
RE: Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
ggaliens as my father would say as the smoke was pouring from the exhaust pipe "there's nothing wrong with it" your prayers and plugins are most welcome though,thanks.
And yes micheus the edge sizes that is it.

Ok
Some results

Fiddled with edge offsets for some time and found no difference merely
chancing with different settings I don't know how it works or what it is
supposed to do but could see a change in the appearance of my sphere
and wire when taken up to 100

For me with default wings settings

In object selection mode wires look good, fine but good.
In face selection mode wires appear a little heavier.
In vertex selection mode wires remain like face selection mode,vertices
of course showing up well,not too much.
In edge selection mode width of wires become even thicker, I would
guess 2.0 of whatever 2.0 is which is the default setting we have in
all edge display width preferences.

All the above without selecting anything, just switching between modes.

So why do the wires appear thicker in edge selection mode everything is
set at 2.0 ? with nothing selected. I believe maybe this has something
to do with what I see or don't see to be precise.

I changed the edge display unselected width to 1.0 and selected width
to 1.5 with success and now am able to see my highlights and
selections although not as bright as I would like, my eyes ain't that
good, I have two screens here one on the notebook and my main monitor really works well for me, and ain't never had a new car but driven plenty.

Thanks again both of you.

Reply
03-07-2015, 12:43 AM
Post: #7
RE: Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
(03-06-2015 09:46 AM)Anthony Wrote:  I changed the edge display unselected width to 1.0 and selected width
to 1.5 with success and now am able to see my highlights and
selections although not as bright as I would like, my eyes ain't that
good, I have two screens here one on the notebook and my main monitor really works well for me, and ain't never had a new car but driven plenty.
So it seems the guy was right about something related to the elements size for this video card. Smile

Thanks for share your results.

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply
03-07-2015, 08:36 AM
Post: #8
RE: Difficulty with edge highlighting and selections.
Yes micheus, the guy was right, and I have another post I hope he does not mind.
Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)