Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[fixed] Can't import TGA image format.
12-12-2016, 08:39 PM (This post was last modified: 12-14-2016 06:51 AM by dgud.)
Post: #1
[fixed] Can't import TGA image format.
Attempting to import images in TGA format results in an error.
(TGA is one of the image format often used in 3DCG textures.)

Wings3D display a following message dialog (No crash log and no error log).
Quote:"Failed to load "(The tga image file's Path)": unknown POSIX error"

I tried it with and without alpha channel, but the same error occurred in both cases.

I checked at importing of other image formats on Mac.
Quote: tga NG
--------
bmp OK
jpg OK
gif OK
tif OK
png OK

How about other OS,can import these image formats?

Wings3D 2.1.4.1
OSX 10.11.6
Reply
12-12-2016, 08:53 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2016 03:18 AM by micheus.)
Post: #2
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
What was the full path of this file?

And if it's in the root path, tell me if the drive is an external one (like a stick memory)

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply
12-13-2016, 04:11 AM
Post: #3
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
I can confirm the error.
Using 1.5.4, therefore, Wings can import TGAs without problems.

__________________________________
http://www.wings3d.com.br/forum
http://www.youtube.com/wings3dchannel
http://www.facebook.com/wings3dchannel
Reply
12-13-2016, 04:26 AM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2016 04:28 AM by micheus.)
Post: #4
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
No problem here, except if the file is in the root dir (which was already observed before).
So, we need something else. Maybe share the tga file, although I still don't that it's the problem.

We have a similar error reported, but it not in the same circumstances: Windows 10 wont save/load from some drive root

So, it's important to answer in which situation that happens. In a internal hard driver or in an external one.
I could observe that happens accessing images at the root from my memory stick.

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply
12-13-2016, 05:15 AM
Post: #5
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
I've tested it using Windows 7.
Some tgas can be imported, another ones no.

For example, i can not import the following Asphalt3.tga.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6YBA4K...sp=sharing

Can you import this image, Micheus?

__________________________________
http://www.wings3d.com.br/forum
http://www.youtube.com/wings3dchannel
http://www.facebook.com/wings3dchannel
Reply
12-13-2016, 05:24 AM
Post: #6
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
Thanks Fonte.

This one is out of that criteria I was getting here. I cannot read it from an external or an internal drive.

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply
12-13-2016, 09:40 AM
Post: #7
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
<<I cannot read it from an external or an internal drive.>>

I didnt understand. Can you import this image to Wings?
(remembering 1.5.4 can)

__________________________________
http://www.wings3d.com.br/forum
http://www.youtube.com/wings3dchannel
http://www.facebook.com/wings3dchannel
Reply
12-13-2016, 02:17 PM
Post: #8
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
I have noticed that having an image in the root directory the import process fail with that POSIX error. If I move that image to a subdirectory the import works fine. (that includes .tga files too)

In the case of your .tga file I can't import it in any way.
What I did was use GIMP to read it and re-export the file. If I set the RLE Compression the file cannot be imported. If I don't use the compression, then the .tga file can be imported.

Please try it and see if this one you can import: Asphalt3-noRLE.tga

tkbd, please do the same. Try the original file by Fonte Boa and then this one above.

If confirmed, it's a wxWidgets bug. I found it supposedly was fixed early this year: Error when loading RLE compressed TGA

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply
12-13-2016, 08:40 PM
Post: #9
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
Micheus and Fonte Boa,Thanks for reply.

micheus Wrote:What was the full path of this file?
"Full path" means the tga image file's path. See below screenshot.



micheus Wrote:tkbd, please do the same. Try the original file by Fonte Boa and then this one above.
OK, I tried to import Asphalt3.tga, but same error message window open.
Micheus,I think your expectations are correct.

I use graphic editor and tried import with TGA images that RLE compressed and not compressed image.
Apparently it seems to fail to read tga file with RLE compression applied.
Reply
12-13-2016, 10:38 PM
Post: #10
RE: Can't import TGA image format.
tkbd, can you please test it with this file update: wp9_dialogs.beam
It must be found in a place like this: C:\Program Files\wings3d_2.1.4.1\lib\wings-2.1.4.1\plugins\default

* That will not fix the RLE compressed file loading.

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)