Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Missing an old feature using vertices
12-28-2016, 02:14 AM
Post: #1
Missing an old feature using vertices
There once was a feature where you could freehand vertices by connecting them as you built a form independent of any of the forms available. I'd sure like to see that again, or at least like to know what version that was so as to download for a project that could really use it. Indeed there are other older versions with forgotten features, but the list of older programs provides no information on them.
Reply
12-28-2016, 07:11 PM
Post: #2
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
Is it Tools/Connect you mean?
Reply
01-01-2017, 08:06 AM
Post: #3
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
I made a anterior confuse "answer" here: forgive me.

-------

Bazooca, you can do what you intend using Tweak | Slide keeping F1 hold during the operation: Wings3D will collapse any edge which lenght reach the value 0 (zero). In other words, using Tweak | Slide keeping F1 hold, when you reach the neighbour vertex, Wings will weld them automatically. Smile

__________________________________
http://www.wings3d.com.br/forum
http://www.youtube.com/wings3dchannel
http://www.facebook.com/wings3dchannel
Reply
01-06-2017, 05:15 AM
Post: #4
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
Holidays excuse for slow reply.

Nope that's not it. This feature extended into empty space from an existing object. You could axis constrain or go free, but it created a winged-edge from one click to the next. Perhaps one of the old-timers recalls it as there was discussion on the old forum (search there is hopeless). It seems like 2003/2004? I have lost the things I made with it, but I clearly recall extruding the center edges to create what I wanted. It saved considerable workaround to get clean geometry.
Reply
01-06-2017, 09:46 PM
Post: #5
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
Isnt it Tools|Connect, as Dgud asked you above?

__________________________________
http://www.wings3d.com.br/forum
http://www.youtube.com/wings3dchannel
http://www.facebook.com/wings3dchannel
Reply
01-08-2017, 12:28 AM
Post: #6
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
<sigh> .. none of the tips extend vertices into empty space, they only connect on existing objects.
Reply
01-08-2017, 01:21 PM
Post: #7
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
Maybe it may be different,I remembered the thread that oort taught.
http://nendowingsmirai.yuku.com/topic/61...ngs?page=2
Quote: it sometimes to quickly create paths from picture (polyline, polycurve) or create cable like paths.
Is it a function similar to this? But that date was 2009.

Otherwise,I searched about that plugin in an old forum but couldn't track it deeply, because screenshot and websites have disappeared.
Sad
Reply
01-08-2017, 11:23 PM
Post: #8
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
That does sound like it Smile But my how time flies Sad
Reply
04-28-2017, 08:21 PM
Post: #9
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
Hi,bazooka
I think that the plugin you looking for is probably Clacos' "DrawLoop" plugin.
This old plugin isn't in recent Wings3D.

The circumstances at the time were written in detail in a following URL!!
(The topic written in 2004-9 and Wings3D v0.98.25 before Wink )
http://www.wings3d.com/paulthepuzzles/aabooleans.html

Found it by chance when I check up to something.
--------
tkbd
Reply
04-29-2017, 01:46 AM
Post: #10
RE: Missing an old feature using vertices
Thanks for the links guys - Mr. Puzzles showed me something new (again) and oort's tip on importing shapes from pdf to inkscape is also very useful .. but its not what I'm after - it was an early version of wings, and the guy that started the first ODF showed me what he'd done and I found it really useful as you could just click along drawing a winged edge behind you. Some simple extrusions on the faces formed gave you useful stuff. Perhaps Mr. Puzzles remembers it?
Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)