Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
A trouble in modelling snowman
05-23-2017, 09:11 AM (This post was last modified: 05-27-2017 07:03 AM by Drayldan.)
Post: #1
Shocked A trouble in modelling snowman
Hi, I'm starting to play around with WINGS3D. Smile

I try to model simple figure of a snowman. I wanted to add a hat (from a cylinder),
But the result is undesirable. I cannot get a satisfactory roundabout hat - here from selection faces.
When I do "extrude" option, some unnecessary elements appear.
Besides, I would like to have this roundabout without a crack (holes).
What am I doing wrong, could you advice anything?


Reply
05-25-2017, 01:21 AM
Post: #2
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
Hi, welcome to forum.

Maybe your mesh isn't clean? Did you try to use cleanup? Perhaps you did unwanted edges and while extruding it's getting weird. You can always try to start everything again.

Start with cylinder, select one edge, use "G" to select edge ring, switch to faces and try to extrude. It should works fine without problems

Follow me:
YOUTUBE
INSTAGRAM
FACEBOOK
WEBPAGE
Reply
05-25-2017, 03:07 AM
Post: #3
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
Extude Normal
Reply
05-26-2017, 11:31 PM (This post was last modified: 05-27-2017 06:22 AM by Drayldan.)
Post: #4
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
Hi Marcin,

Kudos to your modeling abilities and W3D knowledge!

Thanks for your tips, it works in general!
I think I made a mistake when dividing cylinder mesh... Somehow it wasn't cut on all faces I selected. Could you pass a tip to fast and properly divide one face onto two ones? Because I would like to extrude only half of the cylinder, of course.

Then next question is: how to use "cleanup" ? I cannot find that command in W3D. Sad


P.S.
In contrary to appearances, I am also from the country on the Vistula River. Wink
Reply
05-27-2017, 06:06 AM (This post was last modified: 05-27-2017 06:20 AM by Drayldan.)
Post: #5
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
(05-25-2017 03:07 AM)Jan Oorthuijsen Wrote:  Extude Normal
Yeah, that's the right command. But problem is, I have done wrong a split/divide faces before... not sure where for the moment...
Reply
05-28-2017, 02:54 AM
Post: #6
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
Quote (I cannot find that command in W3D.)

Body selection mode,
Select body,
RMB > Clean up
Reply
05-29-2017, 06:44 AM (This post was last modified: 05-29-2017 06:57 AM by Drayldan.)
Post: #7
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
Yes, I did it but it does not help me in this situation.

What's the best combination of options to: use cylinder, select lower half of it, split cylinder and then extrude lower part to get "roundabout" ?

There is a 'slide' option among the commands, but I am not sure it is the right one to split some mesh....
Reply
05-29-2017, 08:21 AM (This post was last modified: 07-15-2017 11:51 PM by micheus.)
Post: #8
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
(05-29-2017 06:44 AM)Drayldan Wrote:  Yes, I did it but it does not help me in this situation.
Let's try this way...

The easy way - since it's a simple object - would be you delete it and start it again by using the tips the guys gave you above (select the faces and use extrude normal).

But, lets try to explain how you could to fix the mesh to start from the bottom selection.

I don't know how did you get this messed up shape, but It was hard to produce something similar. Smile


At the end you have your cylinder ready to tray - again - extrude the bottom ring.

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply
05-31-2017, 09:16 AM
Post: #9
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
Hi Micheus! Thank you very much for taking time and answer, I do appreciate it!
You wrote interesting mini-tutorial and it can be handy for sure.
But for this model it doesn't work (or I wasn't able to do it). It seems this model is kinda unfixable...
If you want to examine it, here it is:
http://www85.zippyshare.com/v/83cbwGUC/file.html


I started from a scratch and did another one. And this time it looks better:
http://imgur.com/a/nnIUB
Smile
Reply
05-31-2017, 03:59 PM (This post was last modified: 07-15-2017 11:52 PM by micheus.)
Post: #10
RE: A trouble in modelling snowman
(05-31-2017 09:16 AM)Drayldan Wrote:  But for this model it doesn't work (or I wasn't able to do it). It seems this model is kinda unfixable...
"Unfixable" for sure! You did something almost impossible. Smile

I tried to "unfold" it and it's not easy to imagine how did you reach it:

In the bottom row, after I select the bottom face, it was a sequence of: move down; increase selection; Take a look at the 3rd and 4th frame and how the selection mix bottom and vertical faces. Shocked

Don't do that again. Biggrin

My Wings3D Collection at G+
Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)