Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
POV-Ray [plugin] (updated: 2016/Aug/08)
11-29-2012, 06:45 PM (This post was last modified: 08-09-2016 04:06 AM by micheus.)
Post: #1
POV-Ray [plugin] (updated: 2016/Aug/08)
For those one that installed wings 1.4.1.*

It's because of this issue. Please update it.

Download on my Google Disk
*-erts.5.8 is compatible with Wings 1.3.1 -> 1.4.1
*-erts.5.9 is compatible with future Wings release (> 1.4.1)
*-erts.8.0 is compatible with Wings 2.0.5


Download the .tar file and use File-> Install Plugin (it should work)

[Edit 1]
Updated both versions with the fix for the bug when exporting an "Object as area light". Thanks maker
[Edit 2]
Updated both versions with the fix for the bug when exporting an "Object as area light" that has hard edges. Thanks oort
[Edit 3] >= Wings 2.0.5
- Added support to Environment lights (SkyDome, SkyBox, HDRI and Gradient);
- Added new options to Finish session: Irradiance and Phong.
Reply
12-06-2012, 10:10 AM (This post was last modified: 12-06-2012 10:11 AM by MikeJ.)
Post: #2
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
(11-29-2012 06:45 PM)micheus Wrote:  *-erts.5.9 is compatible with future Wings release (> 1.4.1)

Does this mean the current development builds available? Or is 5.8 still required for those?

Is there any documentation/wiki with this plugin?
Reply
12-06-2012, 10:29 PM
Post: #3
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
(12-06-2012 10:10 AM)MikeJ Wrote:  Does this mean the current development builds available? Or is 5.8 still required for those?
This means if you are using Wing3d 1.4.1 and/or previous you should use the beams build with Erlang R14B01 (erts-5.8.2). But, if you are using Wings3d 1.4.1.* you should use the beams build with Erlang R15B01 (erts-5.9.1) - the latest snapshot wings-1.4.1.137.g5ee2.exe uses it.

Quote:Is there any documentation/wiki with this plugin?
I didn't find any. But, it's not complicated to use it.
The parameters you need inform in the dialog are basically the same you will find in the POV-Ray documentation.
Reply
12-07-2012, 04:44 AM
Post: #4
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
Thanks Micheus!
Reply
12-15-2012, 06:52 PM
Post: #5
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
Thanks a lot for the update. Although it was possible to comment out the relevant line in the pov file, it was anot so convenient.

One bug still remaining though. (On latest and old snapshot and mlab versions: Win XP pro, AMD 64x2). Any file with "object as area light" does not export. The error message I get is here (screenshot): http://dl.dropbox.com/u/98868278/wings-p...light.jpg.

Also, the "save" dialogue box reopens at least once after doing a "save as". On a few occasions I've had to keep ESC pressed for 3 minutes or so.
Reply
12-21-2012, 12:17 PM
Post: #6
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
Micheus,
I was playing with this to learn more about uv export.... I had to check your Pov-Ray Tips in order to find out how to get the uv map to render instead of getting a black cube.

It might be better if "Use Material Emit for Pov-Ray Ambient" was disabled by default. (Unless this messes something else up)

And Pov-Ray Render Options "Emissive Filter" was set to white. (Unless this messes something else up)

I also noticed that if no Light is present no image is rendered. At first I thought there was a bug. For new users it might be nice to have the exporter add an ambient light to the exported file when no light is present. That would make it idiot proof. The YafaRay exporter somehow adds light when no light is present. I don't know how... Sad

Just thinking of ways to help make things easier for new users of the plug-in... Smile

Thanks,
oort
Reply
12-21-2012, 11:15 PM
Post: #7
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
(12-15-2012 06:52 PM)maker Wrote:  Any file with "object as area light" does not export.
maker, by checking this now I know why sometimes I was getting craches after accidentally cutting a light area object. Smile
Unfortunately, it was expected only meshes defined by four vertices (default for light area). I'm working on this.

maker Wrote:Also, the "save" dialogue box reopens at least once after doing a "save as". On a few occasions I've had to keep ESC pressed for 3 minutes or so.
I still could experience this.



(12-21-2012 12:17 PM)oort Wrote:  It might be better if "Use Material Emit for Pov-Ray Ambient" was disabled by default. (Unless this messes something else up)
And Pov-Ray Render Options "Emissive Filter" was set to white. (Unless this messes something else up)
I'm not sure. The "problem" comes only if you intend to use an ambient light to fill the environment with some basic color.
But, since "Emissive Filter" will represent the ambient color in the .pov file, maybe we would consider to calculate the average of the color for all ambient light that we can have added to wings scene. What do [all] you think about this?

oort Wrote:I also noticed that if no Light is present no image is rendered. At first I thought there was a bug. For new users it might be nice to have the exporter add an ambient light to the exported file when no light is present.
If you do not add any light to your scene, then one or two parallel lights are added to the exported scene - in accord with that one you selected in the View menu option.
But, if you added any light - even if you turned all them off (hidden), then no lights are exported. (we can think this a bug?!)

oort Wrote:Just thinking of ways to help make things easier for new users of the plug-in... Smile
All comments/ideas for POV-Ray plugin are welcome.



Early in 2009 I've contacted Chris (a.k.a Avariant) asking him about a possible update for his plugin and he had answered me:
Quote:"Unfortunately, I don't have any plans to maintain it. I don't really have the time to do so. Anyone who wishes to make contributions is welcome to it, but I don't think I will have the opportunity to make changes any time soon."

So, since it seems to have more people using it here, this is a stimulus to make some contributions for it. Smile
Reply
12-22-2012, 04:04 AM
Post: #8
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
Quote:I'm not sure. The "problem" comes only if you intend to use an ambient light to fill the environment with some basic color.
But, since "Emissive Filter" will represent the ambient color in the .pov file, maybe we would consider to calculate the average of the color for all ambient light that we can have added to wings scene. What do [all] you think about this?

That makes some sense to me. Since I haven't used Pov-Ray enough to know all the implications of such a change, I hope that someone with more Pov-Ray experience will give input... Smile

Quote:If you do not add any light to your scene, then one or two parallel lights are added to the exported scene - in accord with that one you selected in the View menu option.
But, if you added any light - even if you turned all them off (hidden), then no lights are exported. (we can think this a bug?!)

I am using Pov-Ray 3.6 right now. I will see if updating fixes things. I have no lights added at all so maybe the parallel lights being exported don't work in Pov-Ray 3.6???

Since Wings PBR Render doesn't work well on older PC's/Video Cards I think Pov-Ray is the next best thing for very fast renders.

oort
Reply
12-22-2012, 09:36 AM
Post: #9
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
Guys, I don't use other 3D app so I need your help. These objects emiter (objects looking like ligths), do they produce soft or sharp shadows?

Tomorrow I can explaine why I'm asking.

TIA
Reply
12-22-2012, 10:30 AM (This post was last modified: 12-22-2012 10:35 AM by oort.)
Post: #10
RE: POV-Ray plugin [update]
Micheus,
If I had to guess I would say soft shadows. I am only familiar with YafaRay meshlights and the ones I have done are more like glow in the dark marbles... I think they are used for neon or florescent lights???
oort

Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)