Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Wings sluggy when files have a good amount of objects.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone, new on the forums. I've been using Wings for 2 years now and never had this problem before. For a couple of days now when I open a file with a bigger amount of objects (20+) the program gets really sluggy. As in seconds to do certain things, like pressing L and the edgeloop actually getting selected.

Does anyone have a clue what this could be?
I have not experienced that before - except for a very large amount of polys.

Which version of W3D are you using and the OS?
You said "For a couple of days". Before that - when it was fine - had the project the same amount of objects?
I use 1.5.3 and 1.1.1 (for exporting fbx files) in 64 bit WIN7 SP1. The both behave the same.

I am fairly sure I had the same file open before without any issues.
The file does not even have that much shit in it. It's 4000ish polys (mostly quads) in 31 objects.
Selecting an edge ring for example takes about 2 seconds from pressing R to edges actually being highlit. :/
I don't feel sluggish until upwards of 300 or 400 objects. Really depends a bit on polycount too. But objects do have a lot of overhead.
This problem is still persisting even after rolling back graphics drivers and some other things. I have no clue what is causing it, but I makes Wings virtually unusable for me on anything with a certain polycount or a bunch of objects. Would really love to know what this could be even caused by.

On a project with like 5000 or so quads selecting a vert literally takes almost a minute. :/
ptoing ... it probably has a lot to do with the overhead per object.

Just use COMBINE to make one object out of many. If ice cream with sprinkles ... join spinkles into a single object. It will go way faster.

OK ... if happening with only 31 objects ... yeah ... that's a big problem.