Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Pure newbie needs some help for POV-Ray plugin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everybody,

This is my first post on this forum. I've been using Wings3D for several years, watched hours of video tutos, and played dozens of hours with the software. So, from the modelling point of view, I guess that I'm clearly not a beginner: I managed to create some very complex models in the past.

On the other hand, I'm a pure newbie as far as rendering is concerned. I would like to make some pretty rendering using POV-ray, but the popup window that displays when using File -> Render -> POV-Ray is quite impressive for a beginner.

I've tried to select some options, but all the resulting images that I get are always extremely bad looking : very dark pictures, very crude shadows, and so on. I've read the POV-Ray manual, but it details the POV-Ray file format, which is not directly related to the way to achieve these features by exporting scenes from Wings3D.

So I would like to know if somebody could post some sample ".wings" files, illustrating how to set parameters in the POV-Ray" tab for Light and Material, and some snapshot for the configuration of the POV-Ray rendering window parameters. I guess that would really help me to start in the right direction.

Thanks in advance for any help !
Sorry for the delay to anwser.

I used POV-Ray long time ago. After that I started to play with Kerkythea since it's basically a standalone render with its own UI.
When using POV-Ray it was common I tweak the exported file in order to get better look on renders. That means I exported the file and started the POV-Ray UI outside of Wings3D. It's also easier - and maybe faster - to change some adjusts and re-render the scene on its UI.