Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Some topology advice
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all. I am fairly new to modeling and have just gained enough confidence to try to make this 3D model. I am trying to model a gorilla that I will be exporting into a game engine. I am doing this because I want to get the hang of modeling, texturing, animation, and importing into a game engine.

I could use some help with the topology. Am I doing this right? Am I making a mistake somewhere? I have been reading some books on modeling, but there are few resources on box modeling. Any advice would be much appreciated.
Certainly something like a Gorilla could be built in Wings3d, but it might take more than a noobs skill to do it. However, for importing into a game engine, you will want to have a nice Quad-based geometry, which can be built in Wings3d. There is another approach that many modelers have found faster and easier, but it will take some more studying. RETOPOLOGY. In a Nut-shell you could use a program such as Sculptris ( http://pixologic.com/sculptris/features/ ) Which really takes NO tech-knowledge, it's just like working with clay. but the models it produces are triangulated and poorly UV-mapped. But you can take that model into Blender and use the Snap-tool to build a new quad model right to that shape, or, you can cheat like me, bring it into Wings3d, build a rough, low-poly cage around it, then take both into Blender and Shrinkwrap, smooth, and Shrinkwrap again. Also, If you start with quad-mesh (from Wings3d) and leave the Detail slider at 0, you can model quads in Sculptris! take a look at this .. http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthread....deo+thread