Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Mirror-like texture
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am still a newbie and learning, but having a lot of fun :-)

The second piece of furniture I want to model is a wardrobe with mirrored doors. I tried to ask Google and found some information about how to do this in Blender, but whenever I search for "mirror texture Wings3D", I have to wade through many, many results on how to use the mirror/virtual mirror tool, which is not what I am interested in.

Could someone please put me on the right track? What do I need to search for? Is there a tutorial or some documentation on how to do this?

I am attaching my current file, which I created by imitating the textures in http://www.sweethome3d.com/models/contri...mirror.zip. However, the result doesn't look nice at all :-(
Hi. Im newbie too. Im sleepy now and my brain is not functioning properly now, but what about flipping UVmap of second door horizontally ? Should work. .
Hi, thanks for the reply.

When I said "mirrored doors", I didn't mean they are mirrors of each other, but that the surface of the doors is one big mirror (on a wardrobe, so you can see what you look like when you get dressed). I looked up "Spiegeltüren"/"portes miroirs" in a dictionary, I'm not sure its right ;-)
As far as I know, Wings do not have real reflections, it program purely for modeling and not for making such scenes.
I know wings support exporting to Kerkythea and POV-Ray (those are for rendering scenes ?) so maybe someone more experienced than me jumps in and help you :-)
Cheers
(08-30-2014, 10:08 AM)psycholinguist Wrote: [ -> ]When I said "mirrored doors", I didn't mean they are mirrors of each other, but that the surface of the doors is one big mirror (on a wardrobe, so you can see what you look like when you get dressed).
When I read your question I thought the same as Raid. Rolleyes