Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Openfoam surface
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I’m new to Manifoldlab and wings3d for that matter. ManifoldLab is awesome with what you can do with it!

ggaliens, I’ve watched alot of your videos to better understand how to use Manifoldlab. I’m trying to reproduce what you’ve made in this video with the stanford bunny and rod it to make an open foam surface.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fN-jNg3Mbuo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6HezhFE0qw

I’ve been able to make a nice isotropic surface, subdivide it and removed hard edges and vertices. It looks like the next steps you've done is make the outer foam tidbits (extruded them maybe?) than later the inner foam was made. But how exactly I’m not sure. Could you explain how the process is done? Amazing tool ManifoldLab is!
"OpenFoam NOT-SURFACE" is a lot harder than OpenFoam Surface.

Yeah ... the dense lattice all the way through the body is created by ASSURING that tidbit centroids land exactly on the surface of the mesh. The way to do that is to create a "COFFIN" of tidbits around the object being foamed. Basically ... you take a double mesh ... a mesh nested in a mesh. And you make Tetrahedrons throughout both meshs but with a parameter than makes the TETS OBEY The surfaces. That's the key to making sure the outermost tidbits have nice shape. The innerones may or may not be so nicely shaped. You can see that in the bunny.

The outer coffin surface used to WRAP the target surface (bunny) could be an ellipsoid or maybe even a convex hull for the bunny. Then the hull or ellipsoid should be resized to be at least a few whole tidbits (diameter) larger than the bunny ... measured from surface to surface. This is a fudgy factor that will take time to optimize.

So the whole KEY is to pic the proper -a value for TETGEN to size da foam nice.