Wings 3D Development Forum
Change Grid Size? - Printable Version

+- Wings 3D Development Forum (https://www.wings3d.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Wings 3D (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Interface & Usage (https://www.wings3d.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Change Grid Size? (/showthread.php?tid=552)

Pages: 1 2

Change Grid Size? - davecollinsjr - 01-10-2014

Hello,
I love wings3d and I'm using it for 3D printing. I'm a total noob - thank heavens for the tutorials!!

I thought it might be useful for me to think of a wu (wings unit) as 1mm in size (I realize it is a theoretical unit - but I thought it would make my design tasks easier). However, if I do that, the size of my model is such (40mm x 70mm) that the tiny 10x10 grid becomes useless.

Is there any way to change the grid size so that it is, perhaps 100x100 instead of 10x10?

Thanks!
Dave

RE: Change Grid Size? - puzzledpaul - 01-10-2014

Either R click on 'grid' or use the option box at the right hand end of the grid menu listing and enter relevant figures.

pp

btw - reading the info line is essential with wings - especially when using the more complex commands, since LMR mouse buttons provide different offerings Smile

RE: Change Grid Size? - Justanother1 - 01-10-2014

You're talking about the Ground Plane? yeah it might be nice to be able to Re-size this ..
doing anything for Daz Studio ..the models are Huge! you have to change camera settings just to view them ..
No ..I don't know of any way to change the Ground Plane

RE: Change Grid Size? - davecollinsjr - 01-11-2014

Thanks @puzzledpaul and @Justanother1. @Justanother1 you hit it on the head, I meant "Ground Plane" not Grid size.

If I design such that 1 wu = 1 mm then my ground plane basically disappears. If that could be made larger it would be awesome.

Thanks!

RE: Change Grid Size? - puzzledpaul - 01-11-2014

Have you considered making your own using a grid?