Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Snapshot Time again
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Hi,

I do not see a bug thread, so will report (for this build) here.

After creating a cylinder with 64 sections, select one end of cylinder and inset. Taking the inset to 100% crashes "werl.exe" with faulting module "beam.smp.dll"

Currently Setup on Win7 64
This works for me, and these kind of crashes I'll need to reproduce to be able to debug.

This could be you video card driver that causes the crash, what card and can you try to update it?

Also does this happen in latest stable version?

(01-13-2013, 01:00 AM)Stem Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,

I do not see a bug thread, so will report (for this build) here.

After creating a cylinder with 64 sections, select one end of cylinder and inset. Taking the inset to 100% crashes "werl.exe" with faulting module "beam.smp.dll"

Currently Setup on Win7 64
(01-13-2013, 11:23 AM)dgud Wrote: [ -> ]This could be you video card driver that causes the crash, what card and can you try to update it?
I have an nVidia GTX460 with latest drivers.

Quote:Also does this happen in latest stable version?
Not a problem in 1.4.1.

With this crash, it does not happen (as example) if the cylinder is 16 or 32 or 48 sections, it only appears when the cylinder is 60 sections or above.


To add:
I just checked on this setup, which is what I use just for Internet:- Win XP with onboard HD Radeon and getting exactly the same result. I know this setup is not good for testing, but it does show me that the problem is not specific to the nVidia drivers I have on main setup.

What setup are you using for testing?
This probably should not be considered a crash by the snapshot ... but something close to the latest snapshot. There is a chance that somehow my environment is a bit misconfigured in terms of the interplay of all the various code contributions.

I'll try to do more leg work here. I'm getting very spurious crashes lately ... last month of ManifoldLab builds based on latest Wings3D master.

I will try to test similar operations against the OFFICIAL snapshot ASAP,
and if I still have issues. I'll report them.

This looks like something Micheus might have been involved with and maybe I behind on my codebase.

So please take with a grain of salt.

Code:
Using GPU shaders.
Window {menubar,geom} crashed:
function_clause
[{wings_sel_cmd,'-groups_and_help/3-fun-1-',[sel,"\"","Delete group \""]},
{lists,map,2},
{wings_sel_cmd,groups_menu,1},
{wings_sel_cmd,menu,1},
{wings_wm_toplevel,menu_open,4},
{wings_wm,handle_event,3},
{wings_wm,send_event,2},
{wings_wm,do_dispatch,2}]
{window_crash,{menubar,geom},
              function_clause,
              [{wings_sel_cmd,'-groups_and_help/3-fun-1-',
                              [sel,"\"","Delete group \""]},
               {lists,map,2},
               {wings_sel_cmd,groups_menu,1},
               {wings_sel_cmd,menu,1},
               {wings_wm_toplevel,menu_open,4},
               {wings_wm,handle_event,3},
               {wings_wm,send_event,2},
               {wings_wm,do_dispatch,2}]}


Fatal internal error - log written to c:/Users/mark/Desktop/wings_crash.dump
ggaliens, are you getting this error with the snapshot hosted by Dan? or with one built by yourself?
The current snapshot was built from pu branch. I've been working in my plugin using the master branch and I'm not experiencing any crash.

We already notice (in the heightmap thread) that you were not using the current master. I don't think it's good idea update only some files from those ones in the current master. I hope that you have already rebased your master with Dan's master, otherwise we can't be sure about where the problem is coming from.
(01-13-2013, 01:46 PM)Stem Wrote: [ -> ]What setup are you using for testing?

Win7 64 with nvidia 560t

ok managed to get the failure, did inset on the wrong face
I get this crash using the Official DanG snapshot as posted above ...
If I make a dodecahedron ... smooth it until something like 15,000 faces
then select by random __%

Code:
Dump written 2013-1-19_12-57
Version: 1.5.pre1.74.g2aee
Window: geom
Reason: {case_clause,{0.0,100.0}}

Short stack trace:
[]

Long stack trace:
[{wings_ask,integer_validator,1,[{file,"wings_ask.erl"},{line,3218}]},
{wings_ask,mktree_text,4,[{file,"wings_ask.erl"},{line,3183}]},
{wings_ask,mktree_container_1,4,[{file,"wings_ask.erl"},{line,1468}]},
{wings_ask,mktree_container,5,[{file,"wings_ask.erl"},{line,1443}]},
{wings_ask,mktree_container_1,4,[{file,"wings_ask.erl"},{line,1468}]},
{wings_ask,mktree_container,5,[{file,"wings_ask.erl"},{line,1443}]},
{wings_ask,mktree_container_1,4,[{file,"wings_ask.erl"},{line,1468}]},
{wings_ask,mktree_container,5,[{file,"wings_ask.erl"},{line,1443}]}]
I'm getting a crash report after exporting (Collada) a basic cube on the Mac snapshot posted above. Wings does not crash, and it saves a file, but this report pops up:

Process: com.apple.SceneKit.C3DColladaResourcesExtractor [1249]
Path: /System/Library/Frameworks/SceneKit.framework/XPCServices/com.apple.SceneKit.C3DColladaResourcesCoordinator.xpc/Contents/XPCServices/com.apple.SceneKit.C3DColladaResourcesExtractor.xpc/Contents/MacOS/com.apple.SceneKit.C3DColladaResourcesExtractor
Identifier: com.apple.SceneKit.C3DColladaResourcesExtractor
Version: 3.2 (155.4)
Code Type: X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process: ??? [1]
User ID: 501

Date/Time: 2013-01-24 09:24:43.185 -0600
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.8.2 (12C60)
Report Version: 10

Interval Since Last Report: 462356 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 30
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 2

Crashed Thread: 3 Dispatch queue: com.apple.SceneKit.C3DColladaResourcesExtractor.peer.0x7fc30240.xpcq

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000050
PBR Render with problems. Can someone else confirm?
[Image: renderpbr.th.png]

I tested it on a machine with a good video card (GeForce GTX 560Ti) and in a other with OpenCL supported to CPU (Intel i5 HD Graphics). Both of than generate the same output.
Micheus,
I get almost exactly the same with my poor old video card. Instead of getting Green, Red, and Blue cubes I get Cyan, Yellow, and Magenta cubes.

I noticed that if I don't set edges to Hard the cube gets smoothed even though I have set Pre-rendering > Sub-division Steps to 0.

oort
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6