Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Linux?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I have been transitioning over to linux from Windows for about 6 months and one of the applications that I have really missed has been ManifoldLab/Wings3D. I have Wings, Obviously but Manifoldlab is not bundled and so there is a lot of functionality that I have grown to use a lot is just not there. Is there a guide as to how I can get manifoldlab working on 64bit Debian based linux?
Depends a bit on just how determined you are to get this done.

Being the MLAB developer ... I can sort of hack and slash build a tar ball that can install with the
offical plugin installer that is each wings3d official release. But here is the problem of knowing the plugin dependencies. There are more than a few of those dependencies between various of my plugins.

Chance of something like this getting done go up a good deal if you were to tell me you were a VMWare user. But I'm guessing that's not the case. I happen to be a long longtime user of VMWARE and do most of my software dev on VMS.

All this above being said ... I have been working on "unwinding" the plugin to plugin dependencies a bit so I could deliver more of them say "ala carte" or individually wrapper.

I can sort of do that for importers and exporters and Booleans and Scatter and voronoi stuff. But it is still a little time consuming.

Do you think you need the whole thing ... all of MLAB ?

At this point ... not having made a linux build in ages and ages ... I might have to compile the QHULL, TETGEN and CarveCSG parts again for debian. Not sure.

You don't do anything crazy like build your own WINGS3D for your debian do you ? If yes ... then perhaps that make some parts easier. IE ... I would know that a Wings3D was "buildable" for a given debian flavor.