Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: How to remove default sheen?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi, I'm new to Wings and trying to create some very simple models.

However, I've run into a issue:

Whenever I create a new object, such as a cube, it will have some sort of "sheen" or "highlight" applied to it by default. The faces are not flat matte.
This can be seen by switching to "show objects with smooth shading" mode.

This is causing a problem because it shows through my texture.

It doesn't seem to be part of the material because when I export to obj, I discard the mtl file anyway, but the sheen remains.

If I create a basic cube in another app, such as Blender, then import it into Wings, the sheen does not appear. This is how I'm forced to use Wings at the moment.

Does anyone know what this sheen is and how I can remove it?
Did you tried to disable the smooth group or not include normals in the Export dialog?
I've just tried this, but the sheen remains.

Here's a screenshot to show what I mean:

Blank new file. Cube on the left created in Wings. Cube on the right imported from Blender.
You are in the smooth preview mode. Disable it by hitting Tab key (it's the default mode). You can use the main menu View option.

About the shiny material itself, it's the default settings for PBR one. You can create your own material or even change the light shader mode from Camera Light to Hemisphere Light - also under View Manu option.
It's not how they look within Wings that I care about. It's how they look when exported. I just enabled smooth preview to demonstrate it.

When I create my own material it still has the shininess and none of the settings seem to affect that. What is PBR one?