Wings 3D Development Forum

Full Version: Beginner. Voronoi Cube.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

Please be tame I'm a beginner with Wings.

I'm interested in a voronoi workflow, applying the tessellation to different 3D forms.

I practiced using the Sauermann tutorial, using boolean tool to intersect the voronoi objects with a cube. While it worked out correctly, it wasn't exactly the result I was looking for.

I have to explode the voronoi elements by 1% in order for them to intersect with the cube. This results in an offset voronoi pattern, where I just want a single line to divide the shapes. Is there any way I can just intersect the voronoi elements with a cube without having to explode them? So the lines are "etched" into the cube?

Basically all I want is a cube with a voronoi pattern ON THE SURFACE. I understand there might be a voronoi primitive but I need to learn how to apply this to other shapes. The lines on the cube must break it up into individual faces, like they are actually intersected....just like the voronoi sphere primitive (how do you get to that?)

Hope this makes sense! It's probably a very easy thing to do haha

Sorry if some of my terminology is off! Any help very much appreciated.

I attached a screenshot of what I'm trying to achieve.
Step 1 is to find any too to make "adaptive isotropic remesh"
Of your surface. GEEK-SPEAK ... but is needed for best result.

Basically ... you need to triangulate your mesh in a nice way that can produce
a nice DUAL voronoi. Currently manifoldlab does not help you with that
starting mesh. Sorry to tell you that.

Where I left off ...

Was that in order to get a VORONOI foamy version of your somewhat arbitrary model ....

1) You have to do the adaptive isotropic remesh of surface.
2) Tet the entire thing asking tetgen to obey the surface mesh
(don't divide the surface ... just interior)